Remixing music

In tutorials we were required to remix music. Overall, my experience was pleasant and found it was quite easy to remix. I used the application called Mashbox, where I was able to adjust volume, change the pitch/key/tune and add and mix sounds. I found the application easy to use, using various sounds from ‘Sprinkles’ by Mau5hax in F major. Using a range of sounds from this clip, I played around with various features of the application and create my own remixed sound track.

This overall process of ‘remixing’ was certainly an informing and enriching experience and experimenting with the various elements and features of the application, my knowledge about remixing was enhanced. As I was able to create new versions of songs, by playing and experimenting with pre-made songs, reflecting Lankshear and Knobels’ (2008) definition of remixing, stating how “Remix means to take cultural artefacts and combine and manipulate them into new kinds of creative blends.”

 

screen-shot-2016-09-22-at-12-56-33-pm

With the touch of a button, I was so easily  able take initiative, using my imagination to change and control the sounds I was  experimenting with, ultimately producing a blend of new sounds in varying styles.  Similar to gaming, the individual can see (and hear) their progress unfolding in front of them, as well applying themselves to the media in order to progress their own remix- this is what makes it so rewarding.Knobel and Lankshear (2008) state how remixing is not just restricted to “audio editing techniques“, developing and modifying either sounds or music. Now this mechanism involves shifting fixed pictures from a variety of media forms such as television shows, films, and other internet resources (2008, page. 22).

Furthermore, Lessig explains how to a degree, almost everything is a remix. Lessig argues that through this particular process of using someone’s ‘original’ idea or concept to enhance our own idea’s, that our culture is revamped, developed and shaped. I propose that current issues relating to copyright and ‘remixing‘ need to be addressed and resolved and copyright laws need to be adjusted. Lessig (2007), furthermore states how current laws “choke creativity”, meaning that future generations do not hold the power to freely express their thoughts, ideas and inventions.

This is what the ‘Mashbox’ Application looked like. Overall, I found the application easy to use use, and the general design and layout of the app made it feel like a legitimate recording studio space. With features allowing me to adjust the distortion level, timing delay, beats per minute, key of the loop, select sounds and overall composition and interaction of the layers, I was able to create my own mini sound track. In class, I learnt and experienced how these media forms cooperate with one another to create something completely new.

References:

Knobel, M., & Lankshear, C,. (2008). Remix: The Art and Craft of Endless Hybridisation. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 52(1), 22-33.

Lessig, L (2007). Laws that chokes creativity. https://www.ted.com/talks/larry_lessig_says_the_law_is_strangling_creativity?language=e

 

 

Leave a comment